The TalkingPoker.com Forum

The TalkingPoker.com Forum (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Poker Discussion (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   what's the best strat you got? (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16407)

elisa 07-28-10 09:57 AM

what's the best strat you got?

what was that one strategy that keeps you winning? or what's your routine before playing poker live? well, as for me, i have no concrete strategy as of now as im still a beginner and learning the ropes.

sjay2k 07-28-10 03:48 PM

This is a great question and reminds me of the following story, which is entirely true.

Once I got an Ace and Ten, and I raised it up. "Raise!" I said and put some chips into the middle. A fat pale guy with a baseball cap on the other side of the table coughs and snorts few times, and puts an equal amount of chips into the pot.

Anyway the dealer - his name was Mike - clumsily deals the flop. But wow, I flop a straight and of course I bet the minimum amount. The fat guy does some Hollywooding by pretending that he doesn't care about the pot and tells me to stop touching his arm. After a small altercation the man raises me. Oh boy! So I sigh and go "all in" and shove my stack into the centre of the table. I thought it would be a good idea to look nervous by sweating but to my dismay I couldn't do it, which luckily made me start sweating.

The man thought for about 30 seconds and eventually called. I flipped over my Ace and Ten, and you wouldn't believe it but he flips over the same damn hand - Ace Ten (different suits of course!).

This was a "split pot" but I might have won the pot if I went all in preflop. Then I would have stolen the blinds and could have purchased a CD such as "Bridging the Gap" by Black Eyed Peas (who may i say lost me as a fan when they stopped writing lyrics).

I hope this has been helpful.

sjay2k 07-28-10 04:04 PM

In addendum:

"Focus on this, the ear seductionist