The TalkingPoker.com Forum

The TalkingPoker.com Forum (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Poker Discussion (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Rules Question (http://www.talkingpoker.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9868)

Zybomb 01-30-07 05:10 PM

Rules Question
 
I almost came to blows last night at the card room over a situation. I don't know who was right or not, but a player not involved in the hand shouted out and butted in, leading to a shouting match which had to be settled down.

Preflop Action: $35 raise 5 way actions to the flop

Flop action: Player 1 bets $80, I raise to $215, player 2 calls player 1 calls.

Turn Action: Player 1 checks, I move all in for $500. Player two thinks for a while then shows me his cards and folds them.

Given the fact that I am all in and have no other decision to make in the hand, is the hand that the player showed me exposed to the remaining player in the hand?

GeoffM 01-30-07 05:13 PM

I don't think it should be, seeing as how you have no more play to make and it does affect his decision. This dude should also be booted from the table and/or establishment.

You say you came to blows, so I assume that means the dealer allowed him to show the player that was still undecided?

Zybomb 01-30-07 06:02 PM

Almost came to blows... basically the player not in the hand shouted out THAT HAND IS EXPOSED. I turned to the other player and said what the fuck are you talking about Im all in I have no more action. He said something to the effect of it doesnt matter. I told him to shut the fuck up and that he wasnt in the hand both of us stood up and the floor had to step in between....

The dealer in the meantime had exposed the hand anyway without a floor ruling, but I could tell she wasnt sure....

It didn't matter , because I had the nuts and the other player did as well so he was calling either way.... but I just became curious as to what the proper ruling was on this situation...and I wasnt pissed bc i thought i was right (i wasnt sure) but I was pissed that a player not involved in the hand stuck his head into it

Robbr25 01-30-07 07:08 PM

I think it is ...
Show one, show all.
If you show your hand when you muck to one person, you have to show it to the whole table.
It is wrong of him to do it if someone else is still in the hand, whether you are all in or not.

Zybomb 01-30-07 07:14 PM

I dont think the show one show all thing is applicable here, its more geared towards if I win the pot and show my neighbor my hand everyone can see it

ChipFish 01-30-07 07:20 PM

If Zybomb still had possible action left, it should be shown immediately.
Since Zy, didn't have possible action left, the dealer should hold the hand aside (facedown, until all action is completed), then show the table.

Table flipping is definitely a good option, but only when you know you are behind. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Talking Poker 01-30-07 08:23 PM

I agree with this - well, the first part anyway.

Showing the mucked hand to the player still in the hand could affect his decision, which is NOT acceptable. You had no decision left, so while showing YOU his hand was wrong (And he should be given a warning about this), it didn't affect anything. Turning the cards face up on the table makes the situation WORSE and not better, so that clearly shouldn't be done.

As for the guy not even in the hand opening his mouth, I would have gone off on him BIG TIME.

When something like this happens, you need to call the floor over immediately and ask for a ruling. They act in the best interest of the game nearly 100% of the time (no one is perfect, but they know more than that douchebag not even in the hand does).


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2008 TalkingPoker.com