The TalkingPoker.com Forum  

Go Back   The TalkingPoker.com Forum > All Things Poker > General Poker Discussion
Register Blogs Arcade HH Converter Calendar

Closed Thread

Old 03-18-06, 05:51 PM
Fish

mrpotto has between -10 and 0 Rep Points
Unhappy Busted bankroll - seeking advice

I'm sure this is a familiar story to some. Today I lost my bankroll and I'm at an on-line poker crossroads. I'm relatively new to hold em' - about a year under my belt playing low stakes hold em' NL mini tourneys with my buddies and over the last four months online at party poker. To date, I've lost about $1,000. General strategy is to load in about $100 and play $1/$2 6 player ring games with some $11 and $22 single table sit n' gos mixed in. I recently had my BR up to $500 but the last week or so has not been kind and once again I'm busted. I know that my initial bankroll isn't sufficient to be toiling in the $1/$2 games but I tend to find I couldn't stand the lower limits because absolutely noone folds (alot better at $1/$2) and I was constanting getting big hands broken.

The other piece of it is the time I'm spending playing pp. I read that to some on-line poker is a lot like being addicted to crack and that's where I'm at. I find myself daydreaming about how I played hands (good and bad) in work meetings, at home, etc. I also find myself wanting to leave a social situation so I can get back to my pc to play poker. My wife and kids have been pretty tolerable but its been noticable to all of us.

So I've decided to (try) to take some time off and regroup. Any advice on dealing with the addictive nature of on-line poker would be appreciated.