The TalkingPoker.com Forum  

Go Back   The TalkingPoker.com Forum > All Things Poker > General Poker Discussion
Register Blogs Arcade HH Converter Calendar

Closed Thread

Old 10-02-06, 06:04 PM
I'm on a boat

Reel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep PointsReel Deal has between 3000 and 3499 Rep Points
Default An Analysis of the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act of 2006

An Analysis of the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act of 2006

Introduction: For background purposes, I am a practicing attorney and an adjunct law professor. However, while I have years of experience reviewing and interpreting statutory law, it should be noted that this is not an exact science. People can (and do) interpret statutes in different ways and, consequently, people will react in different ways. So, while I may believe that this statute is not applicable and not enforceable against certain people and/or entities, those people or entitles may have the opposite reaction.

Summary of the Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act of 2006 (the “Act”): the following is my summary of the Act.

§5361. Congressional findings and purpose: this section gives a brief description of the findings of Congress (ie, that gambling is bad, but not all types) and that new mechanisms are needed to enforce gambling laws on the Internet.

§5362. Definitions: this section provides definitions for certain terms used throughout the statute (there are approximately 16 pages of definitions). There are some important definitions to point out.